Biking and such… Signing up.


Copyright © 2012 Tim GeogheganAwhile back, I stumbled upon this thing, 30 Days of Biking. It’s a “movement” or “event”, I’m really not sure what to call it. But it seemed like a really cool idea. Riding the bike somewhere every day in the month of April.

I signed up.

I also was reading about how A certain popular weight-loss program was now covered by my insurance. Admittedly, I need some help in this area.

I signed up.

I’m not sure what it is about things like these that make me want to sign up. I can’t resist the temptation. There wasn’t even a high pressure sales pitch. They just seemed like a good ideas.

That’s two sign-ups in the span of a week. Both are aimed at making me healthier and happier. So far, I’m sore and hungry.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst, for they are sticking to their diets.  ~Author Unknown

I find it amusing, in a sick sort of way, how easy it was to get in the sorry physical shape I’m currently in. It happened and I really had no idea it was even happening. One day I got out of the shower and there in the mirror was this tubby, balding dude I sorta recognized… Ugh.

The punchline to the joke it that now, to get back to the realm of decent shape, it is taking a concerted effort. I am forced to think about the food I eat and the activities I do. A bowl of carmel corn is now a 40 minute bike ride. A bottle of Coca-Cola is a walk around the neighborhood. The 6 dollar pint of dark beer is no longer worth the effort, It’s too expensive in too many ways.

Ignorance is bliss, but it’s also destructive. Cognizance is hard work. I think I have a good idea why so many people are out of shape and unhealthy (me included). We don’t want to do the work. We are lazy. For a long time it was easy to blame the food, but it’s not the food that is the trouble.

If hunger is not the problem, then eating is not the solution.  ~Author Unknown

I used to have VW bugs that I would “work on” much to my parents chagrin. I would buy a car, park it out behind the house and let it sit. I was always amazed that the car that ran 9 months earlier, no longer wanted to start. The battery was dead, the fuel had gone bad, the springs and hoses had deteriorated and the thing just didn’t work anymore.

I see those VWs as a metaphor for my own aging body now. I’ve been parked in a mostly sedentary job for several years. It’s gonna take some work to get running like I used to.

People say that losing weight is no walk in the park.  When I hear that I think, yeah, that’s the problem.  ~Chris Adams

I needed to do something to turn this around. I signed up.

